Sunny. Hot.

7 day
  • Thursday 20-34°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Friday 20-33°c Afternoon clouds. Hot. Afternoon clouds. Hot.
    Saturday 20-33°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
    Sunday 21-32°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
    Monday 22-34°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
    Tuesday 22-34°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
More News

2 APC candidates win assembly seats in Kwara

2015-04-13 07:35

Kwara - Two candidates of the All Progressives  Congress (APC) have won seats in the Kwara House of Assembly.

The Returning Officer for Okuta/Yashikira State Constituency, Dr Samuel Kolawole of the University of Ilorin, declared  the result for the constituency on  Sunday in Kosubosu, headquarters of Baruten Local Government Area of the state.

He said Mallam Usman Adamu of the APC polled 10 900 votes to defeat Usman Abdullahi of the PDP who scored 5 986 votes.

Also announcing  the results for Ilesha-Baruba/Gwanara State Constituency on Sunday, the Returning Officer, Dr Ridwan Yusuf of the University of Ilorin, declared Umar Gunu of the APC winner.

Gunu scored 7 668 votes to beat Alhassan Sianu of the PDP who had 3 285 votes.

Also read:PDP takes early lead in Taraba

Meanwhile, a community leader in the area, Prof. Halidu Abubakar, has applauded the peaceful conduct of the electorate in the area through out the electoral process

Abubakar commended  the electoral body for the introduction of  Smart Card Readers  in the 2015 elections.

He, however, urged INEC to tackle the challenges experienced in the handling of the card readers ahead of the next elections.

Abubakar also urged INEC  to consolidate on its  achievements  in terms of distribution of electoral materials as well as distribution of the Permanent Voters Cards.

Read more on: apc  |  pdp  |  kwara state  |  2015 elections

More In This Category
Lasun emerges new Deputy Speaker

Hon Yusuf Sulaimon Lasun has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly..

APC rejects Saraki, Dogara

The All Progressives Congress has rejected the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

El-Rufai downsizes ministries from 19 to 13

Gov. Nasiru El-Rufai of Kaduna State has reduced the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13 for effective service delivery.

Political thugs disrupt Katsina Assembly inauguration

Political thugs are alleged to have disrupted the 8th Katsina State House Assembly inauguration proceedings.

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
News24 |   OLX  |   PriceCheck  |   Careers24