Morning clouds. Hot.

7 day
  • Sunday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Monday 20-32°c Morning clouds. Warm. Morning clouds. Warm.
    Tuesday 20-33°c Broken clouds. Hot. Broken clouds. Hot.
    Wednesday 20-33°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
    Thursday 21-34°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Friday 22-34°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
More News

6 000 APC members defect to PDP in Sokoto State

2015-02-06 08:54
Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan and presidential candidate of the ruling People's Democratic Party (PDP) embraces leading opposition All Progressive Congress presidential candidate Mohammadu Buhari during a conference to promote non-violence att ~ STRINGER

Wamakko - No fewer than 6 000 members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Wamakko Local Government Area of Sokoto State on Thursday defected to the People's Democratic Party (PDP).

The defectors were received in Wamakko by Alhaji Ibrahim Milgoma, Chairman of PDP in Sokoto state.

The spokesman for the defectors, Alhaji Abubakar Gedawa, said they joined the PDP to get justice and equity.

"We defected to the PDP from APC to ensure the success of the PDP at all levels in the upcoming general elections'', Gedawa said.

The governorship candidate of PDP in the state, Abdallah Wali, promised that he would ensure justice and equity in the state if elected.

Also read: Founding member of PDP defects to APC

Former Gov. Attahiru Bafarawa of the Spkoto state called on the people of the area to vote massively for the PDP during the polls.

"I did my best to develop the local government when I was the governor of the state and Wali will continue from where I stopped, if elected as governor'', he said.

On his part, Milgoma said the leadership of the party would do its best to ensure that the APC-led state government was voted out of office on February 14.

"The PDP will sweep the forthcoming elections in the state and across Nigeria”, Milgoma said. 

Read more on: apc  |  pdp  |  nigeria  |  nigeria 2015 elections

More In This Category
Lasun emerges new Deputy Speaker

Hon Yusuf Sulaimon Lasun has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly..

APC rejects Saraki, Dogara

The All Progressives Congress has rejected the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

El-Rufai downsizes ministries from 19 to 13

Gov. Nasiru El-Rufai of Kaduna State has reduced the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13 for effective service delivery.

Political thugs disrupt Katsina Assembly inauguration

Political thugs are alleged to have disrupted the 8th Katsina State House Assembly inauguration proceedings.

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
News24 |   OLX  |   PriceCheck  |   Careers24