Sunny. Hot.

7 day
  • Wednesday 21-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Thursday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Friday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Saturday 20-33°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
    Sunday 22-33°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
    Monday 23-34°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
More News

APC wins 3 senatorial seats in Katsina

2015-03-30 14:02
Nigerian presidential candidate of the main opposition All Progressives Congress (APC), Muhammadu Buhari and vice-presidential candidate Yemi Osinbajo attend a campaign rally on January 19, 2015 in Kaduna. Buhari will face President Goodluck Jonathan ~ CHRIS STEIN
Katsina - The All Progressives Congress (APC) has won with wide margins all the three senatorial seats in Katsina State at the concluded National Assembly elections.

In Katsina Central, the Returning Officer, Professor Aminu Dalhatu said that APC candidate, Alhaji Umar Ibrahim, polled 375,360 votes to defeat Alhaji Lamis Dikko of the PDP, who got 77,323 votes.

In Katsina North, the returning officer, Professor Rashid Hamid, declared that the APC candidate, Alhaji Mustapha Bukar scored 308,041 votes to emerge winner.

Bukar defeated PDP candidate and Speaker of Katsina State House of Assembly, Alhaji Ya’u Gwajo-gwajo, who secured 102,892 votes.

In Katsina South, the returning officer, Professor Hamza Mani said that APC candidate who is the Senate Minority Whip, Senator Abu Ibrahim, polled 409,642 votes to emerge victorious.

Also read: APC candidates win Bauchi North District, Katagum Fed Constituency

He defeated the state Deputy Governor, Alhaji Abdullahi Faskari of the PDP who scored 100,364 votes.

In a related development, APC has won Daura/Sandamu/Mai’adua Federal Constituency.

The returning officer, Professor Rashid Hamid said that APC candidate, Alhaji Sani Saidu-Fago, a one time Speaker of the state assembly, polled 29,137 votes to emerge the winner.

Hamid said that Saidu-Fago defeated Alhaji Sani Lawal of the PDP, who scored 9,948 votes during the election.

In Kankia/Kusada/Ingawa Federal Constituency, the returning officer, Dr. Lawal Abdu-Saulawa said that the APC candidate, Alhaji Ahmed Babba polled 65,768 votes to emerge winner.

Saulawa said that Babba, the incumbent member for the area, defeated Alhaji Sada Yakubu of PDP who scored 16,797 votes.

Read more on: apc  |  katsina state  |  2015 elections

More In This Category
Lasun emerges new Deputy Speaker

Hon Yusuf Sulaimon Lasun has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly..

APC rejects Saraki, Dogara

The All Progressives Congress has rejected the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

El-Rufai downsizes ministries from 19 to 13

Gov. Nasiru El-Rufai of Kaduna State has reduced the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13 for effective service delivery.

Political thugs disrupt Katsina Assembly inauguration

Political thugs are alleged to have disrupted the 8th Katsina State House Assembly inauguration proceedings.

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
News24 |   OLX  |   PriceCheck  |   Careers24