More sun than clouds. Hot.

7 day
  • Sunday 21-32°c Morning clouds. Warm. Morning clouds. Warm.
    Monday 20-32°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
    Tuesday 21-33°c Afternoon clouds. Hot. Afternoon clouds. Hot.
    Wednesday 22-32°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
    Thursday 21-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Friday 21-33°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
More News

Akwa-Ibom appoints transition committees

2015-04-30 07:50

Abuja - The Akwa-Ibom State Governor-elect, Udom Gabriel Emmanuel, has set up a 21-member transition committee.

Emmanuel will inaugurate the committee, chaired by Sunny Akpadiaha, at the Banquet Hall of the Government House later on Thursday.

Udeme Ufot is Vice Chairman and Barrister Emmanuel Enoidem is Secretary.

Other members of the Committee are Esio Oquong Udoh, Bishop Andrew Unwanta, Dr. Chris Akpan, Barrister Jerry Akpan, Professor Ibe Bassey, Dr Chris Nyong, Barrister Goddy Umoh, Aniekan Akpan, Kennedy Akwaowo, Professor Maria Ikorok, Serah Esitikot, Barrister Comfort Etuk, Dr. Majorie George Abasiodiong, Unyime Usoro, Ese Umoh, Kenneth Okon, Ekaette Ebieteobong Usip and Bernard Duncan.

Chairman of the Publicity Committee of the Divine Mandate Campaign Organization, Aniekan Umanah, who is also the State Commissioner for Information and Communications, confirmed the details.

Also Read: Akwa Ibom residents warned against eating cow skin

Umanah said Governor of the state, Godswill Akpabio has also constituted a transition to handover committee, with the Head of the Civil Service, Cecilia Udoessien, as Chairman. Enobong Uwah is Secretary and Don Etim, Prince Uwem Ita Etuk, Dr Ememabasi Bassey and Sir Adasi Ubulom will serve as members.

Other members appointed to serve on transition committee of the out-going administration are Dr. Glory Edet, Professor Ibe Bassey, Obong Senas Ukpanah, Akan Okon and Aniekan Umanah. The Committee also includes Professor Atim Antai, Ignatius Edet, Monday Uko, Etido Inyang, Anietie Etuk, Ibanga Etang, Obonganwan Grace Ekong, Barrister Mercy Isang, Sir Udo Isobara, Elder Bassey Essang and Barrister Uwemedimo Nwoko.

Members of the two committees are to work harmoniously to ensure a smooth transition from the present administration to the incoming government of Emmanuel.

- CAJ News
Read more on: akwa ibom state  |  politics

More In This Category
Lasun emerges new Deputy Speaker

Hon Yusuf Sulaimon Lasun has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly..

APC rejects Saraki, Dogara

The All Progressives Congress has rejected the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

El-Rufai downsizes ministries from 19 to 13

Gov. Nasiru El-Rufai of Kaduna State has reduced the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13 for effective service delivery.

Political thugs disrupt Katsina Assembly inauguration

Political thugs are alleged to have disrupted the 8th Katsina State House Assembly inauguration proceedings.

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
News24 |   OLX  |   PriceCheck  |   Careers24