Morning clouds. Hot.

7 day
  • Sunday 21-33°c Haze. Hot. Haze. Hot.
    Monday 22-32°c Morning clouds. Warm. Morning clouds. Warm.
    Tuesday 21-33°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
    Wednesday 21-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Thursday 21-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Friday 22-34°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
More News

Al-Makura retains governorship seat in Nasarawa

2015-04-12 21:37
Nasarawa - Nasarawa State governor and All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidate, Umaru Tanko Almakura seems to have won the governorship election in the state after polling 191 463 votes to beat his major opponents in the race, Leadership reports.

As of the time of this report, Governor Almakura won in eight or the nine local government areas which results had been presented at the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) office in Lafia, the state capital.

His closest opponent, Labaran Maku won by a landslide in his own local government, Nasarawa Eggon, but fell short of replicating the feat in any other local government as he polled a total of 114 674 votes as results from four out of the thirteen local government areas of the state were being awaited.

Also read:Aminu Tambawual declared winner in Sokoto

Results collated from the nine local councils by the state governorship returning officer, Prof Abdulmumini Rafindadi, indicates that Al-Makura’s other major contender, Yusuf Agabi of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) scored a total of 79 651 votes.

Governor Almakura carried the day in Keana, Keffi, Wamba, Akwanga, Karu, Kokona and Obi local government areas, while Maku of APGA won in Nasarawa Eggon local government area with an unprecedented votes,but Agabi of the PDP was yet to win a local council.

As results from Awe, Doma, Toto and Lafia were being awaited it was expected that Al-makura would extend his lead given the fact that in previous election Lafia gave him an unprecedented 83 000 votes and remained his stronghold in every election since then.

Read more at Leadership

Read more on: apc  |  pdp  |  nasarawa state  |  2015 elections

More In This Category
Lasun emerges new Deputy Speaker

Hon Yusuf Sulaimon Lasun has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly..

APC rejects Saraki, Dogara

The All Progressives Congress has rejected the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

El-Rufai downsizes ministries from 19 to 13

Gov. Nasiru El-Rufai of Kaduna State has reduced the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13 for effective service delivery.

Political thugs disrupt Katsina Assembly inauguration

Political thugs are alleged to have disrupted the 8th Katsina State House Assembly inauguration proceedings.

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
News24 |   OLX  |   PriceCheck  |   Careers24