Sunny. Hot.

7 day
  • Tuesday 17-34°c Sunny. Hot. Sunny. Hot.
    Wednesday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Thursday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Friday 20-34°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Saturday 20-34°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Sunday 22-32°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
More News

Alamieyeseigha, Alaibe, Sylva eye Bayelsa gov seat in 2016

2015-04-14 18:19
A ballot box filled with ballot is pictured before being counted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) at a polling station in Yenagoa in Bayelsa State ~ PIUS UTOMI EKPEI

Yenogoa - Former governors Diepreye Alamieyeseigha and Timipre Sylva are among several candidates that have indicated interest to contest the Bayelsa State gubernatorial election due to take place in February, 2016, reports Punch.

Others who are gearing up for the contest are a former Managing Director, Niger Delta Development Commission, Timi Alaibe,  a former Commissioner for Health, Frank Akpoebi; a Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Power, Godknow Igali and the All Progressives Congress (APC) state Chairman,  Tiwe Oruminighe.

Interestedly, all of them are planning to run under the platform of the APC since the incumbent governor, Seriake Dickson, is likely to seek a second term under the Peoples Democratic Party.

Also read: Alamieyeseigha is my political benefactor – Jonathan

All the candidates have started political manoeuvring and consultations with stakeholders in the state.

Alamieyeseigha became the first civilian governor of the state in 1999 and was re-elected for a second term in 2003 but was impeached midway after he was accuses corruption and money laundering.

Read more at Punch.

Read more on 2015 elections

Read more on: apc  |  bayelsa state  |  2015 elections.politics

More In This Category
Lasun emerges new Deputy Speaker

Hon Yusuf Sulaimon Lasun has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly..

APC rejects Saraki, Dogara

The All Progressives Congress has rejected the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

El-Rufai downsizes ministries from 19 to 13

Gov. Nasiru El-Rufai of Kaduna State has reduced the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13 for effective service delivery.

Political thugs disrupt Katsina Assembly inauguration

Political thugs are alleged to have disrupted the 8th Katsina State House Assembly inauguration proceedings.

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
News24 |   OLX  |   PriceCheck  |   Careers24