Mostly sunny. Hot.

7 day
  • Tuesday 17-34°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Wednesday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Thursday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Friday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Saturday 20-34°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
    Sunday 22-33°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
More News

Court orders INEC to conclude Oguta assembly election

2015-03-26 09:59
Chairperson of INEC, Attahiru Jega speaks in Abuja as Nigeria has postponed its presidential election on security grounds as the Boko Haram conflict intensifies. (AFP)

Owerri - A Federal High Court in Owerri on Wednesday ordered the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to conclude the Oguta State Constituency election.

The judge, Justice S.M. Shaibu, in his judgment, rejected the reliefs sought by Chief Eugene Dibiagwu that INEC should declare him the winner of June 29, 2013 re-run election.

Shaibu held that granting the plaintiff’s reliefs would ``amount to shifting  the goal post at the middle of a football competition.

"Also, this will look like a relay race, athletes lined up to run and a whistle is blow and you discovered that one of the athletes did not observe the rule and you decide to call them back, you do not disqualify anybody at that stage."

He held that INEC did not declare anybody winner or issued certificate of return to any after the re-run, noting that it would be wrong for the court to do so.

Also read: INEC set for polls in Anambra - REC

The judge, however, urged the commission to complete what was left of its job in the constituency.

Dibiagwu of the Peoples' Democratic Party (PDP) had urged the court to declare him as the winner of the poll.

He urged the court to reject Chief Walter Uzonwanne as the candidate of All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) in the re-run poll.

He had argued Uzonwanne lost his candidature when he defected from  APGA to All Progressives Congress (APC) before the re-run election.

According to him, APC is not known in the contest because the party was not registered when parties fielded candidates in 2011.

The constituency seat has been vacant since May 29, 2011 to date.

Read more on: inec  |  nigeria

More In This Category
Lasun emerges new Deputy Speaker

Hon Yusuf Sulaimon Lasun has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly..

APC rejects Saraki, Dogara

The All Progressives Congress has rejected the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

El-Rufai downsizes ministries from 19 to 13

Gov. Nasiru El-Rufai of Kaduna State has reduced the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13 for effective service delivery.

Political thugs disrupt Katsina Assembly inauguration

Political thugs are alleged to have disrupted the 8th Katsina State House Assembly inauguration proceedings.

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
News24 |   OLX  |   PriceCheck  |   Careers24