Mostly sunny. Hot.

7 day
  • Thursday 20-34°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Friday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Saturday 20-33°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
    Sunday 21-33°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
    Monday 23-32°c Tstorms late. More sun than clouds. Hot. Tstorms late. More sun than clouds. Hot.
    Tuesday 22-34°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
More News

Edo election tribunal receives 2 petitions, says secretary

2015-04-30 10:03
Nigeria elections

Benin - The Edo Election Petition Tribunal on Wednesday said it received only two petitions arising from the conduct of the March 28 National Assembly (NASS) elections in the state.

The secretary to the tribunal, Mukhtar Bello, said in Benin that the petitions were that of House of Representatives and the Senate.

He said that deadline for submission of the NASS election petitions was May 3.

Bello said the submitted petitions were that of Akoko-Edo Federal Constituency and Edo Central Senatorial district respectively.

The tribunal secretary said the House of Representatives petition was filed by Oladele Balogun of People's Democratic Party (PDP), who was challenging the election of Peter Akpatason of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

According to the petition, Balogun claimed that Akpatason was not validly elected or returned as the candidate representing Akoko-Edo federal constituency.

Also read: Akwa-Ibom appoints transition committee 

It said that Akpatason election was invalid by reason of corrupt practices and non-compliance with the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended).

The petitioner claimed that Akpatason was not duly elected by majority of lawful votes cast at the election conducted on March 28.

It would be recalled that the Independent Electoral Commission (INEC) had declared Akpatason elected having scored a total vote of 19,006 against Balogun’s 16,680.

Similarly, the APC senatorial candidate for the Edo Central senatorial district, Chief Francis Inegbeneki was challenging the victory of Clifford Ordia of the PDP at the poll.

Meanwhile, the tribunal secretary said submission of petitions for the State House of Assembly was still opened.

Read more on: inec  |  edo state  |  2015 elections

More In This Category
Lasun emerges new Deputy Speaker

Hon Yusuf Sulaimon Lasun has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly..

APC rejects Saraki, Dogara

The All Progressives Congress has rejected the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

El-Rufai downsizes ministries from 19 to 13

Gov. Nasiru El-Rufai of Kaduna State has reduced the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13 for effective service delivery.

Political thugs disrupt Katsina Assembly inauguration

Political thugs are alleged to have disrupted the 8th Katsina State House Assembly inauguration proceedings.

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
News24 |   OLX  |   PriceCheck  |   Careers24