Mostly sunny. Hot.

7 day
  • Sunday 20-33°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
    Monday 22-33°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
    Tuesday 23-33°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
    Wednesday 22-32°c More sun than clouds. Warm. More sun than clouds. Warm.
    Thursday 22-34°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
    Friday 22-34°c Haze. Hot. Haze. Hot.
More News

Elected Ekiti, Ondo NA members receive certificate of return

2015-04-16 09:34
A ballot box filled with ballot is pictured before being counted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) at a polling station in Yenagoa in Bayelsa State ~ PIUS UTOMI EKPEI

Ado-Ekiti - The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Wednesday presented Certificate of Return to National Assembly members elected in the just-concluded polls in Ekiti and Ondo states.

In Ekiti state, the Resident Electoral Commissioner, Sam Olumekun, handed the certificates to the newly-elected law makers at the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) office in Ado-Ekiti.

The new legislators, all Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) members, were a former deputy governor in the state, Abiodun Olujimi, who is Senator-elect for Ekiti South, Duro Faseyi, Senator-elect for Ekiti North and Mrs Fatimah Raji-Rasaki, Ekiti Central.

Six Reps-elect in the state, also of the PDP, who received the certificates were Ayodeji Oladimeji, Ekiti Central I Constituency; Olamide Oni, Ekiti Central II Constituency and Segun Adekola, Ekiti South I.

Others were Akin Awodumila, Ekiti South II; Kehinde Agboola, Ekiti North I and Thaddeus Aina, Ekiti North II.

After distributing the certificates, Olumekun urged aggrieved candidates, who lost the election, to approach the Elections Petitions Tribunal rather than taking the laws into their hands.

In Ondo state, the certificates were distributed to the newly-elected national legislators by INEC National Commissioner, Professor Salau Akinola.

Also read: Igbos demands FCT Minister

At the ceremony, Akinola commended residents of the state for their peaceful conduct during the elections.

He assured that the commission would not do anything to distort the gains it had made in its effort towards becoming one of the best election management bodies in the world.

"I want to reassure the people of Ondo State, other Nigerians and the international community that INEC will more than ever before, continue to conduct peaceful, credible, free and fair election," he said.

He congratulated the candidates on their victory at the polls and urged them to be worthy representatives of their people.

The REC in the state, Olusegun Agbaje, urged political leaders to organise serious sensitisation programmes for their members so as to prevent thuggery and snatching of ballot boxes during elections.

He particularly charged politicians, traditional rulers and religious leaders in Ilaje communities to curb the excesses of the youth in the area in order to forestall violent incidents in the future elections.

The Senators-elect, who received the certificates were, Tayo Alasoadura, Ondo Central; Professor Ajayi Boroffice, Ondo North, both of All Progressives Congress (APC), and Yele Omogunwa, Ondo South (PDP).

Five persons elected on APC platform into the House of Representatives, who received their certificates were Ajisafe Olowokere, Akure South/Akure North constituency; Friday Stephen, Akoko North-East/Akoko North-West and Babatunde Kolawole, Akoko South-East /Akoko South-West.

Others were Olabode Ayorinde, Owo/Ose constituency and Baderinwa Bamidele, Idanre /Ifedore constituency.

Four persons elected on PDP platform, who also got their certificates were Michael Omogbehin, Okitipupa /Irele constituency, Akinfolarin Mayowa, Ile-Oluji /Oke-Igbo; Victor Akinjo, Ilaje/Ese-Odo and Joseph Akinlaja, Ondo East /Ondo West.

Read more on: inec  |  ondo state  |  ekiti state  |  2015 elections

More In This Category
Lasun emerges new Deputy Speaker

Hon Yusuf Sulaimon Lasun has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly..

APC rejects Saraki, Dogara

The All Progressives Congress has rejected the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

El-Rufai downsizes ministries from 19 to 13

Gov. Nasiru El-Rufai of Kaduna State has reduced the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13 for effective service delivery.

Political thugs disrupt Katsina Assembly inauguration

Political thugs are alleged to have disrupted the 8th Katsina State House Assembly inauguration proceedings.

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
News24 |   OLX  |   PriceCheck  |   Careers24