Mostly sunny. Hot.

7 day
  • Saturday 21-33°c Afternoon clouds. Hot. Afternoon clouds. Hot.
    Sunday 21-32°c More sun than clouds. Warm. More sun than clouds. Warm.
    Monday 22-31°c Tstorms late. More sun than clouds. Warm. Tstorms late. More sun than clouds. Warm.
    Tuesday 23-33°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
    Wednesday 23-30°c More sun than clouds. Warm. More sun than clouds. Warm.
    Thursday 22-31°c Partly cloudy. Warm. Partly cloudy. Warm.
More News

Gbemi Saraki political associates defect to APC in Kwara

2015-04-09 08:34

Ilorin - Followers and political associates of Senator Gbemisola Saraki on Wednesday dumped the People's Democratic Party (PDP) to defect to All Progressives Congress (APC) in Kwara.

The Leader of Gbemi Rukkayat Saraki Movement (GRSM) and the former Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Honourable Benjamin-Issa Ezekiel, announced this at a news conference in Ilorin.

Ezekiel said the move was in solidarity with their Principal, Senator Gbemisola Saraki, who had defected to the APC on the eve of the Presidential and National Assembly polls.

He said that their principal had earlier given a directive that her political followers should follow suit.

The group alleged marginalisation, orchestrated media warfare to malign Gbemi Saraki and belittling of the group despite its enormous contributions to PDP in the state as reasons for the defection.

He reiterated that the step taken by members of the group with their leader, Gbemi was neither premeditated nor for any personal interest.

Also read: APC vows to combat plot to rig Assembly elections

"It is an exercise of our right to dissent from the ways of a party which we all laboured to build but failed to recognise our pre-eminence in its fold.

"We are fascinated by the content of the ideology, decorum, decency and civility that reign supreme in the fold of the APC.

"We have found in the APC, a platform that mirrors the ideals of our political family," he said.

The group, therefore, called on its members across the 16 Local Governments Areas in the State to vote for APC candidates during the April 11, Governorship and State House Assembly elections.

He said that the members of the PDP state executive in the group have also resigned their positions to follow Gbemi to APC.

They include the PDP Scribe, Hassan Rasaq, the State Youth and Woman Leaders, Segun Olawoyin and Hajiya Nimota Oba-Suleiman.

Read more on: apc  |  kwara state  |  2015 elections

More In This Category
Lasun emerges new Deputy Speaker

Hon Yusuf Sulaimon Lasun has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly..

APC rejects Saraki, Dogara

The All Progressives Congress has rejected the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

El-Rufai downsizes ministries from 19 to 13

Gov. Nasiru El-Rufai of Kaduna State has reduced the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13 for effective service delivery.

Political thugs disrupt Katsina Assembly inauguration

Political thugs are alleged to have disrupted the 8th Katsina State House Assembly inauguration proceedings.

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
News24 |   OLX  |   PriceCheck  |   Careers24