Mostly sunny. Hot.

7 day
  • Tuesday 19-34°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Wednesday 20-33°c Sunny. Hot. Sunny. Hot.
    Thursday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Friday 20-34°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Saturday 20-34°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Sunday 23-32°c Morning clouds. Warm. Morning clouds. Warm.
More News

INEC fixes April 18 for Ekiti supplementary poll

2015-04-13 16:38
A ballot box filled with ballot is pictured before being counted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) at a polling station in Yenagoa in Bayelsa State ~ PIUS UTOMI EKPEI

Ado Ekiti - The Ekiti State Independent National Electoral Commission has said supplementary election will hold on Saturday, April 18, in 22 polling units affected by crisis in Ilejemeje Constituency during the April 11 Assembly poll in the state.

The commission stated that there were cases of disturbances in the council area.

The commission added that the affected polling units included one in Obada, 11 in Iye I, four in Iye III, three in Iludun I and three in Iludun II.

It stated, “Consequent upon the crisis that engulfed the conduct of the state Assembly election in Ilejemeje constituency in Ekiti State on Saturday, April 11, 2015, the election remains inconclusive.

Also read: Jonathan claims victory in Ekiti

And the commission has decided to hold a supplementary election on Saturday, April 18, 2015 in 22 poling units affected by the disturbance.

These polling units include one in Obada registration area, 11 polling units in Iye I, four polling units in Iye III, three polling units in Iludun I and three polling units in Iludun II, making a total of 22 polling units.”

The ruling Peoples Democratic Party had won 25 seats already declared in the 25 state constituencies across 15 Local Government Areas in the state. The state House of Assembly is a 26-member House.

Read more on 2015 elections

Read more on: inec  |  2015 elections  |  ekiti state

More In This Category
Lasun emerges new Deputy Speaker

Hon Yusuf Sulaimon Lasun has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly..

APC rejects Saraki, Dogara

The All Progressives Congress has rejected the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

El-Rufai downsizes ministries from 19 to 13

Gov. Nasiru El-Rufai of Kaduna State has reduced the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13 for effective service delivery.

Political thugs disrupt Katsina Assembly inauguration

Political thugs are alleged to have disrupted the 8th Katsina State House Assembly inauguration proceedings.

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
News24 |   OLX  |   PriceCheck  |   Careers24