a few tstorms. Mostly cloudy. Hot.

7 day
  • Saturday 23-32°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
    Sunday 21-33°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
    Monday 20-32°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
    Tuesday 21-33°c Haze. Hot. Haze. Hot.
    Wednesday 22-33°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
    Thursday 21-33°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
More News

International election observation missions congratulate Nigerians

2015-04-02 08:20
Nigeria elections

Abuja - Heads of international election observation missions on Wednesday congratulated the government and people of Nigeria for their commitment to peaceful reactions to results of Saturday’s presidential and National Assembly elections.

In a joint statement in Abuja, the groups commended President Goodluck Jonathan for exhibiting statesmanship by congratulating the President-elect, General Muhammadu Buhari.

The observation missions comprised AU, the Commonwealth, the EU, the International Republican Institute (IRI), and the National Democratic Institute (NDI).

"The heads of international election observation missions commend President Goodluck Jonathan for his statesmanship in swiftly congratulating his opponent and paving the way for a historic peaceful transfer of power.

"The heads of international election observation missions also congratulate General Buhari on his success and his appreciation of his opponent," they said.

Also read: Nigerians deserve respect from global communities - US

The groups urged that the same spirit, which Nigerians exhibited at the national elections, should also be exhibited at the states elections on April 11.

They pledged to monitor the coming polls and appealed to the electorate to remain committed to the process.


"We call on the people of Nigeria to approach the upcoming governorship elections, which will also be internationally observed, with the same commendable spirit as demonstrated during the presidential election," they said.

Leaders of the missions are Professor Amos Sawyer (AU), Dr Bakili Muluzi (Commonwealth), Santiago Fisas (EU), Constance Newman (IRI) and Ambassador Johnnie Carson (NDI).

Read more on: nigeria  |  2015 elections

More In This Category
Lasun emerges new Deputy Speaker

Hon Yusuf Sulaimon Lasun has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly..

APC rejects Saraki, Dogara

The All Progressives Congress has rejected the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

El-Rufai downsizes ministries from 19 to 13

Gov. Nasiru El-Rufai of Kaduna State has reduced the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13 for effective service delivery.

Political thugs disrupt Katsina Assembly inauguration

Political thugs are alleged to have disrupted the 8th Katsina State House Assembly inauguration proceedings.

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
News24 |   OLX  |   PriceCheck  |   Careers24