Mostly sunny. Hot.

7 day
  • Thursday 20-34°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Friday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Saturday 20-33°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
    Sunday 21-32°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
    Monday 22-34°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
    Tuesday 23-34°c High level clouds. Hot. High level clouds. Hot.
More News

Nigerian presidents and military rulers since independence

2015-03-28 07:43
Goodluck Jonathan
President Goodluck Jonathan. (File: AFP)

Abuja - Nigeria elects a new president on Saturday. Here is a list of former heads of state and military rulers since independence from Britain in 1960:

Queen Elizabeth II was head of state from October 1, 1960 to the same date in 1963 and ruled with a governor-general and prime minister until a republic was declared in 1963.

First Republic (1963-1966)

Nnamdi AZIKIWE (president, ceremonial; prime minister Abubakar Tafawa Balewa): Oct 1, 1963 to Jan 16, 1966 (overthrown).

Military rule (1966-1979) 

General Johnson Thomas AGUIYI-IRONSI: Jan 16, 1966 to Jul 29, 1966 (overthrown).

General Yakubu GOWON: Jul 29, 1966 to Jul 29, 1975 (overthrown).

General Murtala MOHAMMED: Jul 29, 1975 to Feb 13, 1976 (assassinated).

General Olusegun OBASANJO: Feb 13, 1976 to Oct 1, 1979 (resigned).

Second republic (1979-1983)

Shehu SHAGARI: Oct 1, 1979 to Dec 31, 1983 (overthrown).

Military rule (1983-1993)

General Muhammadu BUHARI: Dec 31, 1983 to Aug 27, 1985 (overthrown).

General Ibrahim BABANGIDA: Aug 27, 1985 to Aug 26, 1993 (resigned).

Third republic (1993) 

Ernest SHONEKAN: Aug 26, 1993 to Nov 17, 1993 (overthrown).

Military rule (1993-1999)

General Sani ABACHA: Nov 17, 1993 to Jun 8, 1998 (died in office).

General Abdulsalami ABUBAKAR: Jun 8, 1998 to May 29, 1999 (resigned).

Fourth republic (1999-present)

Olusegun OBASANJO: May 29, 1999 to May 29, 2007.

Umaru Musa YAR'ADUA: May 29, 2007 to May 5, 2010 (died in office).

Goodluck JONATHAN: May 5, 2010 to date.

Send us your election eyewitness reports and pictures to

Read more on: 2015 elections  |  politics

More In This Category
Lasun emerges new Deputy Speaker

Hon Yusuf Sulaimon Lasun has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly..

APC rejects Saraki, Dogara

The All Progressives Congress has rejected the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

El-Rufai downsizes ministries from 19 to 13

Gov. Nasiru El-Rufai of Kaduna State has reduced the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13 for effective service delivery.

Political thugs disrupt Katsina Assembly inauguration

Political thugs are alleged to have disrupted the 8th Katsina State House Assembly inauguration proceedings.

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
News24 |   OLX  |   PriceCheck  |   Careers24