Sunny. Hot.

7 day
  • Thursday 20-34°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Friday 21-33°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
    Saturday 20-33°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
    Sunday 21-33°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
    Monday 22-32°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
    Tuesday 21-34°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
More News

Ondo State 8th Assembly inaugurated, Speaker and Deputy Elect

2015-06-01 18:06
Party supporters dance carries a banner with picture of Nigerian President and Presidential candidate of the ruling People's Democratic Party Goodluck Jonathan during a rally in Lagos on January 8, 2015. Nigeria's President Goodluck Jonathan on Thurs ~ PIUS UTOMI EKPEI

Akure - The Ondo State House of Assembly, on Monday inaugurated members of its 8th Assembly and swore in Ms Jumoke Akindele and Mr Fatai Olotu as the Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively.

Akindele of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) represents Okitipupa 2 Constituency, while Olotu of the same party represents Akoko North-East Constituency.

The speaker promised to carry all members along and be a vibrant speaker but solicited the cooperation of members to ensure dividends of democracy to the people.

Also read: Ondo Assembly extends tenure of local government chairmen

Mr Olamide George of PDP, representing Akure North Constituency nominated Akindele, who was unopposed, while Joseph Araoyinbo also of PDP (Akoko North-West 2) seconded the nomination.

Similarly, Mr Adeniyi Coker (PDP Ilaje 2) nominated Olotu, who was also unopposed as deputy speaker, while Bamidele Oleyelogun (PDP Ifedore Constituency), seconded the nomination.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the 26 members sworn-in in the assembly comprise five All Progressive Congress (APC) members and 21 Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) members. 

Read more on: apc  |  pdp  |  akure  |  politics

More In This Category
Lasun emerges new Deputy Speaker

Hon Yusuf Sulaimon Lasun has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly..

APC rejects Saraki, Dogara

The All Progressives Congress has rejected the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

El-Rufai downsizes ministries from 19 to 13

Gov. Nasiru El-Rufai of Kaduna State has reduced the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13 for effective service delivery.

Political thugs disrupt Katsina Assembly inauguration

Political thugs are alleged to have disrupted the 8th Katsina State House Assembly inauguration proceedings.

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
News24 |   OLX  |   PriceCheck  |   Careers24