Mostly sunny. Pleasantly warm.

7 day
  • Monday 19-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Tuesday 19-34°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Wednesday 20-33°c Partly cloudy. Hot. Partly cloudy. Hot.
    Thursday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Friday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Saturday 22-33°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
More News

PDP challenges governorship election result in Katsina State

2015-05-06 22:40
Supporters ride in a campaign bus of leading opposition All Progressive Congress (APC) presidential candidate Mohammadu Buhari and his running mate Yemi Osinbajo as they drive past a campaign poster of Nigerian President and candidate to his re-elect ~ PIUS UTOMI EKPEI

Katsina - The Katsina State Elections Tribunal has received petitions from the Peoples Democratic Party’s (PDP), governorship candidate, Alhaji Musa Nashuni, and three others.

It is reported that Nashuni is challenging the election of Alhaji Aminu Masari of All Progressives Congress (APC), on three grounds.

Nashuni insists in the petition that Masari was not qualified to contest the election at time of the said election.

He alleged that the election was "characterised by corrupt practices and non-compliance with Electoral Act.’’

Nashuni stated that Masari was not duly elected by majority of lawful votes cast during the election.

Also read: PDP plots to return Mark as Senate President

Secretary of the tribunal, Mr Anefu Simon, said in Katsina on Wednesday that other petitions were filed by state constituencies’ candidates.

He said the tribunal was, however, yet to commence hearing.

Simon listed Alhaji Nazifi Yusuf, from Mashi, Alhaji Habibu Sulaiman, Funtua and Alhaji Lawal Isyaku, Dandume constituencies as the challengers.

They are challenging Alhaji Salisu Haruna, Alhaji Abubakar Muhammad and Alhaji Lawal Isyaku of APC who won the said constituencies in the April 11 elections. 

Read more on: pdp  |  katsina  |  results  |  politics

More In This Category
Lasun emerges new Deputy Speaker

Hon Yusuf Sulaimon Lasun has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly..

APC rejects Saraki, Dogara

The All Progressives Congress has rejected the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

El-Rufai downsizes ministries from 19 to 13

Gov. Nasiru El-Rufai of Kaduna State has reduced the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13 for effective service delivery.

Political thugs disrupt Katsina Assembly inauguration

Political thugs are alleged to have disrupted the 8th Katsina State House Assembly inauguration proceedings.

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
News24 |   OLX  |   PriceCheck  |   Careers24