a few tstorms. Partly sunny. Warm.

7 day
  • Saturday 23-33°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
    Sunday 21-33°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
    Monday 21-32°c Morning clouds. Warm. Morning clouds. Warm.
    Tuesday 21-33°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
    Wednesday 22-33°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
    Thursday 22-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
More News

PDP clinches Senate, House of Reps seats in Edo

2015-03-30 10:01
Displaced people from Baga listens to President Goodluck Jonathan (unseen) in a Maiduguri camp on January 15, 2015. Nigeria's President Goodluck Jonathan met survivors from what is thought to be Boko Haram's worst attack in its six-year insurgency. H ~ OLATUNJI OMIRIN
Benin - The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Edo Sunday night declared Clifford Ordia of PDP winner of the Edo Central senatorial district.

INEC returning officer, Dr Francis Abiegue, who announced the results also declared PDP candidates, Joe Edionwele and Segius Oguns as winners of the House of Representatives seats.

Abiegue said Ordia got 84 782 votes to defeat his closest rival, Francis Inegbeneki of All Progressives Congress (APC), who got 46 820 votes.

He said Oguns received 33 891 votes to defeat APC's Onikolese Irabor who scored 14 348 votes to clinch the Esan North East/Esan South East Federal constituency seat.

Also Read: ECOWAS reaction to Nigeria poll mixed

The returning officer said Edionwele scored 36 075 votes to beat APC candidate, Gideon Obhakhan, who got 23 825 votes in the Esan West/Esan Central and Igueben Federal Constituency seat election.

In Edo North, INEC returning officer Adebayo Adedeji declared APC candidate, Philip Shaibu winner of Estako Federal Constituency with 42 019 votes. He beat the PDP candidate, Abbas Braimoh who got 29 964 votes.

In Owan Federal Constituency, Pally Iriase of APC scored 26 606 to retain the Owan seat. His closest rival was Ambrose Imode of PDP who scored 21 069 votes.

In Akoko Edo Federal Constituency, the returning officer, Alliu Momodu, declared APC candidate, Peter Aphatasin with 19 006 votes the winner.

His closest rival was Bankola Balogun of the PDP who scored 16 680 votes.

In Edo North Senatorial district, Francis Alimikhena of the APC scored 86 021 votes to defeat Pascal Ugbome of PDP who got 66 092 votes.

Read more on: inec  |  pdp  |  edo state  |  2015 elections  |  politics

More In This Category
Lasun emerges new Deputy Speaker

Hon Yusuf Sulaimon Lasun has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly..

APC rejects Saraki, Dogara

The All Progressives Congress has rejected the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

El-Rufai downsizes ministries from 19 to 13

Gov. Nasiru El-Rufai of Kaduna State has reduced the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13 for effective service delivery.

Political thugs disrupt Katsina Assembly inauguration

Political thugs are alleged to have disrupted the 8th Katsina State House Assembly inauguration proceedings.

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
News24 |   OLX  |   PriceCheck  |   Careers24