Sunny. Hot.

7 day
  • Wednesday 21-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Thursday 20-34°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Friday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Saturday 20-33°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
    Sunday 21-33°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
    Monday 23-33°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
More News

PDP wins Nasarawa North senatorial seat

2015-03-30 09:33
Party supporters raise flags in support of Nigerian President and Presidential candidate of the ruling People's Democratic Party Goodluck Jonathan and Vice President Namadi Sambo during a rally in Lagos on January 8, 2015. Nigeria's President Goodluc ~ PIUS UTOMI EKPEI
Akwanga - The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), on Sunday declared Philip Gyunka of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) winner of Saturday’s National Assembly Election for Nasarawa North Senatorial District.

The commission also declared Rep. Emmanuel Umbugadu, also of PDP as winner of the Akwanga/Nasarawa-Eggon/Wamba Federal Constituency.

Umbugadu is the incumbent member representing the area.

Also Read: ECOWAS reaction to Nigeria poll mixed

INEC Returning Officer Awal Ibrahim, who declared the winners at Akwanga, said they scored the highest number of votes.

He said that Gyunka scored 32 761 votes to defeat APC and APGA candidates who got 26 340 and 32 310 votes respectively.

The returning officer also said that Umbugadu scored  63 016 votes to defeat his closes rival Mary Uwongulu of APC who got 32 762.

 He said that the two candidates were declared winners in line with the provisions of the law, having scored the highest numbers of votes cast.

Read more on: inec  |  pdp  |  nasarawa state  |  2015 elections  |  politics

More In This Category
Lasun emerges new Deputy Speaker

Hon Yusuf Sulaimon Lasun has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly..

APC rejects Saraki, Dogara

The All Progressives Congress has rejected the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

El-Rufai downsizes ministries from 19 to 13

Gov. Nasiru El-Rufai of Kaduna State has reduced the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13 for effective service delivery.

Political thugs disrupt Katsina Assembly inauguration

Political thugs are alleged to have disrupted the 8th Katsina State House Assembly inauguration proceedings.

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
News24 |   OLX  |   PriceCheck  |   Careers24