Sunny. Hot.

7 day
  • Wednesday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Thursday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Friday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Saturday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Sunday 22-32°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
    Monday 23-34°c Morning clouds. Hot. Morning clouds. Hot.
More News

Senators who will not return to the upper chambers

2015-03-31 16:47
A picture shows presidential campaign posters of Nigerian President and candidate to his re-election for the ruling People's Democratic Party (PDP) Goodluck Jonathan and leading opposition All Progressive Congress (APC) presidential candidate Mohamma ~ PIUS UTOMI EKPEI

Lagos - After Saturday’s National Assembly election, some incumbent senators will not be returning to the Upper Legislative Chamber, reports The Nation

 Lawmakers who resume duty in June, will have a few of their members to the senate.
1.Smart Adeyemi

Smart Adeyemi the three-time senator from the People’s Democratic Party(PDP), who was the Chairman, Senate Committee on Federal Capital Territory (FCT), was defeated in the last Saturday’s election by a former House of Representatives member Dino Melaye of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

2.  Chris Ngige
Chris Nwabueze Ngige, a medical-doctor turned politician,  was the Vice Chairman, Senate Committee on Power, Science and Technology  was defeated by a  former House of Representatives member, Uche Ekwunife of the PDP.
•    Femi Lanlehin

Femi Lanlehin was the Vice Chairman, Senate Committee on National Planning, Economic & Poverty Alleviation.  He later dumped the APC for the Accord Party, he lost to the APC candidate, Soji Akanbi.

•    Hosea Agboola
Ayoola Hosea Agboola  platform of the PDP in 2015. He is the Vice Chairman of the House Committee on Drugs Narcotics & Financial Crime. He lost his seat to his APC challenger Fatai Buhari, who was a Commissioner in the administration of Governor Abiola Ajimobi.

•    Olubunmi Adetumbi
Olubunmi Adetunmbi, was the Vice Chairman of the Committee on Interior Affairs. He lost to  a former House of Representatives member, Duro Faseyi of the PDP.

•    Ahmed Makarfi
, Ahmed Markafi became the governor of the state for two consecutive terms between 1999 and 2007, he was representing the Kaduna North Senatorial District at the National Assembly for the second term after his election in 2007.
He was trounced at the poll by his APC challenger on Saturday.
•    Abdul Ahmed Ningi
Abdul Ahmed Ningi. He was the Majority Leader of the Lower Legislative Chamber between 2003 and 2007.
Ningi will in May bow out of the National Assembly after 16 unbroken years following his defeat in the last Saturday’s election.
•    Anthony Adeniyi
Anthony   Olumuyiwa Adeniyi is a member of the APC, a platform that took him to the National Assembly to represent the Ekiti South Senatorial District..
The Tsunami of the PDP that swept through Ekiti State last Saturday, denied Adeniyi the opportunity to return to the National Assembly on the platform of the APC.

 Also read:Senator dumps Jonathan for Buhari

•    Ayo Adeseun
Ayo Adesun was elected into the House of Representatives on the platform of the PDP in 2003 and was reelected in 2007 to represent the Ogbomoso Federal Constituency
 His attempt to return to the National Assembly was scuttled on Saturday, when   Fatai Buhari of the APC won.

•    Adegbenga Kaka
Adegbenga Kaka was deputy  to former Governor Olusegun Osoba between 1999 and 2003
Kaka, followed Chief Osoba out of the APC to form the Social Democratic Party (SDP), under which he sought reelection into the Senate but he was defeated by the PDP candidate, Prince Buruji Kashamu.

For the latest on national news, politics, sport, entertainment and more follow us on Twitter and like our Facebook page.

Read more on: election 2015

More In This Category
Lasun emerges new Deputy Speaker

Hon Yusuf Sulaimon Lasun has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly..

APC rejects Saraki, Dogara

The All Progressives Congress has rejected the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

El-Rufai downsizes ministries from 19 to 13

Gov. Nasiru El-Rufai of Kaduna State has reduced the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13 for effective service delivery.

Political thugs disrupt Katsina Assembly inauguration

Political thugs are alleged to have disrupted the 8th Katsina State House Assembly inauguration proceedings.

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
News24 |   OLX  |   PriceCheck  |   Careers24