Mostly sunny. Hot.

7 day
  • Tuesday 17-34°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Wednesday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Thursday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Friday 20-33°c Mostly sunny. Hot. Mostly sunny. Hot.
    Saturday 20-34°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
    Sunday 22-33°c More sun than clouds. Hot. More sun than clouds. Hot.
More News

Vehicle curfew announced for election reruns

2015-04-24 16:20
Nigeria elections
Abuja - The Inspector-General of Police (IGP) Solomon Arase, has ordered the restriction on vehicular movements in Local Government Areas of states where elections will be held this weekend.

The restrictions is Abia, Delta, Imo, Kogi and Taraba States, where elections take place on Saturday, are between the hours of 8am to 5pm on the day.

Emmanuel Ojukwu, police spokesperson, said this was part of efforts to ensure adequate security.

Also read: Police to deploy men from four states for Taraba re-run polls

This restriction of vehicular movements order affects movements in and out of the areas where the rerun elections are to take place, except for Ambulances, Fire Service Trucks and others on essential duties. Consequently, travelers and citizens who intend to ply roads within those hours are advised to plan alternative routes.

 Meanwhile, the IGP also warned government officials and political office holders not to go to polling Units with uniformed orderlies or aides, while persons who have no business with voting must not be found within 300 metres of a polling unit.

 The Police High Command has also put adequate security measures in place by the deployments of additional senior officers to supervise security of elections in the states.

"Meanwhile, citizens are enjoined to remain vigilant and report all suspicious movements or dealings to appropriate Police Authority," Ojukwu added.

Read more on: abia state  |  imo state  |  delta state  |  elections  |  curfew

More In This Category
Lasun emerges new Deputy Speaker

Hon Yusuf Sulaimon Lasun has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly..

APC rejects Saraki, Dogara

The All Progressives Congress has rejected the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

El-Rufai downsizes ministries from 19 to 13

Gov. Nasiru El-Rufai of Kaduna State has reduced the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13 for effective service delivery.

Political thugs disrupt Katsina Assembly inauguration

Political thugs are alleged to have disrupted the 8th Katsina State House Assembly inauguration proceedings.

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
News24 |   OLX  |   PriceCheck  |   Careers24