Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.


BEN TV announces 139 nominations

30 September 2014, 20:26

Lagos- Nigeria’s foremost UK based television channel, BEN TV, on Monday released the list of 139 entertainers and sportsmen for its inaugural Entertainment Awards.

The the award ceremony will hold at the Oriental Hotel, Lagos, on Nov. 23 and will be hosted by a comedian, Ayo Makun alias AY.

Among the list of nominees released in Lagos are Odunlade Adekola, Ramsey Noah, Richard Mofe-Damijo, Kunle Afolayan, Jim Iyke and Wale Ojo, who are up for ‘Best Actor’.

Nominated for the ‘Bes Actress’ category are Mercy Johnson, Toyin Aimaku, Chioma Chukuka-Akpota, Funke Akindele, Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde and Genevieve Nnaji.

In the ‘Best Movie’ category are Alakada, Flower Girl, Accident, Maami, Half of a Yellow Sun and Confusion Na Wa.

Among the musical nominees are Runtown, Patoranking, Lil Kesh, Cynthia Morgan and Yemi Alade, who are up for the ‘Best New Artist’ category.

For the ‘Best Female Artist’ are Waje, Seyi Shay, Yemi Alade, Tiwa Savage, Chidinma and Niyola.

Nominated for the ‘Best Male Artist’ were Olamide, Wande Coal, Wizkid, Davido, Iyanya, Phyno and Burna Boy.

In contention for the ‘Best Group’ are The Mavins, HKN Gang, P-Square, SDC (Show Dem Camp) and Grip Boys.

The `Best African Artist’ is for an African artist, who is not Nigerian and the nominees are Diamond, Fuse ODG, Fally Pupa, Maifikizolo, Sarkodie and AKA.

Nominated for `Best Collaboration’ are Reminisce and Davido for ‘Daddy’; Burna Boy and D’banj for ‘Won Da Mo’; Patoranking and Tiwa Savage for ‘Girlie O’; Lax and Wizkid for ‘Ginger.

Others are Jo-El and 2Face for ‘Hold On’; Seyi Shay with Patoranking and Shaydee for ‘Murda’ and Phyno and P-Square for ‘O Set’.

For the `Best Hip-Hop Male Artist’ are Ice Prince, Phyno, Morell, Reminisce and Olamide.

The nominees for the `Best Hip-Hop Female Artist’ are Niyola, Cynthia Morgan, Mo’chedda, Eva and Muna.

In the `Best Reggae/Dancehall’ category were Orezi, Patoranking, Burna Boy, Cynthia Morgan and Timaya.

Nominated for the `Best Artist in Diaspora’ are Sona, Ayo Jay, Moelogo, Lola Rae, Dizzy and May7ven.

For the `Best Gospel Act’ are Lara George, Sinach, Nathaniel Bassey, Frank Edwards, Eben and Solomon Lange.

The nominees for the `Music Producer of The Year’ were Don Jazzy, Del- B, D’Tunes, Mastercraft, Pheelz and Legendury Beats.

The `Music Video of The Year’ nominees are `Onye’ by Waje and Tiwa Savage; `Take it’ by Sean Tizzle; `Johnny’ by Yemi Alade; `Taste the Money’ by P-square; `Alobam’ by Phyno and Aye by Davido.

For the `Music Video Director of The Year’ are Moe Musa, Square ball, Clarence Peters, Kemi Adetiba, Sesan, Patrick Elis and Unlimited LA.

The `Single of the Year’ nominees include ‘Shakebody’ by Skales; `Turn Up’ by Olamide; `Pullover’ by Kcee and Wizkid; `Double Wahala’ by Oritsefemi; `Show me the Money’ by Wizkid.

Others are `Dorobucci’ by The Mavins; `Surulere’ by Dr Sid; `Aye’ by Davido; `Sekem’ by MC Galaxy and `Shoki’ by Lil Kesh.

For the `Album of The Year’ there are `The Ascension’ by 2Face; `The Journey’ by Sean Tizzle; `No Guts No Glory’ by Phyno; `Baddest Guy Ever Liveth’ by Olamide; `Alaga Ibile’ by Reminisce and `FOZ’ Ice Prince.

Nominated for the `Best International Collaboration’ are  `Number 1’ by Diamond and Davido; `Eminado’ by Dr Sid and Alexandra Burke; `Rainbow remix’ by 2Face and T-pain; `Plenty Money’ by Davido and Mafikizolo; `Shots on Shots’ by Ice Prince and Sarkodie and `Bum Bum’ by Timaya and Sean Paul.

The nominees for the `Sportsman of The Year’ are Amaechi Morton, Stephen Keshi, Obinna Metu, Vincent Enyeama, Ojo Onaolapo and Mikel Obi.

For the `Sportswoman of The Year’ are Perpetua Nkwocha, Maryam Usman, Blessing Okagbare, Amelia Okoli, Dominique Duncan and Azeezat Oshoala.

The `Comedian of The Year’ nominees are Bovi, Akpororo, Basket Mouth, Gbenga Adeyinka, Princess and Seyi Law.

There will also be ‘Special Recognition Awards’ and an induction into the ‘BEN TV Hall of Fame’ during the awards.


For the latest on national news, politics, sport, entertainment and more follow us on Twitter and like our Facebook page.

Tags television

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Read more from our Users

Nigeria @ 56: Words to my green f...

A leader’s job is not to dictate, but rather to be respected, admired and be a trustee, of the land we love, with so much potential, a land which should be freer than free. Its still a long way to fufilling our destiny! Read more...

Submitted by
Isaac Asabor263
Recession: An opportunity for Nig...

The recession should be seen as an opportunity for the country’s promotion as long as we all collectively conduct ourselves in a patriotic manner, writes Isaac Asabor.  Read more...

Submitted by
Black and White

We want to imitate the whites in everything because we are ignorant of our inherent originality and content. We spend all our Naira to acquire his inventions because we so oblivious of our natural endowments that we allow him have it for free. Read more...

Submitted by
Nate Nat
Adamawa State University Mubi: A ...

ADSU integrity forum has accused the Sunday Joshua Wugira, a lawyer, of adopting unorthodox tactics by abusing his privilege by attacking the integrity of ADSU Vice Chancellor Dr. Moses Zira Zaruwa, writes a News24 reader. Read more...

Submitted by
Abdulsalam Jubril
My Country Nigeria (Part One)

Poetry by Abdulsalam Jubril.

Submitted by
Abdulsalam Jubril
Recession, dearth in leadership a...

Every leader has the opportunity to become great and making himself immortal in the lives and hearts of people for generations to come. Will Mr. President seize this opportunity?, questions Abdulsalam Jubril. Read more...