Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.


Jigawa council polls results released

20 January 2014, 12:04

Dutse - The Jigawa Independent Electoral Commission (JSIEC) has announced the results of some local government areas in Saturday’s council polls, held in the state.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that so far, the results of Buji, Gwaram, Kafin Hausa, Babura, Suletankarkar, Auyo, Guri, Birniwa and Yakwasi Local Government Areas, released by JSIEC Returning Officers, indicated that PDP candidates won in all those areas unopposed.

In Buji, the Returning Officer, Auwalu Abubakar, said that Sale Unguwanmaina of the PDP, scored 39 000 votes, and was declared winner.

Sale Kangire, the Returning Officer for Gwaram , declared  as winner with 11 254 votes, Hannafi Yakubu  of the PDP, a commissioner  who resigned recently to contested for chairmanship position.

Announcing the result in Kafin hausa, the Returning Officer in the area, Muhammed Malammamadori, said that Muhammed Tambale of the PDP polled 92 223 and also emerged winner, while the Returning Officer for Babura Local Government, Salisu Ringim , declared as winner, Mohammed Sani of the PDP, who scored  65 706 votes.

The Returning Officer in Suletankarkar , Muhammad Sa’id, disclosed that Saleh Ahmad of the PDP won the election with 57647 votes while in Auyo, the Returning Officer in the area, Iliyasu Hussaini, declared that Ibrahim Alhassan of the PDP , who garnered 45 585 had won.

In Guri, the Returning Officer in the area, Tijjani Umar, said that Alhaji Haruna Dauda of the PDP also emerged unopposed, with 41 629 votes.

Sunusi Lawan, the Returning Officer in Yankwasi, stated that the PDP flag bearer, Ado Karkarna, emerged victorious with 24 566 votes while in Birniwa, the Returning Officer, Yusuf Maji, also said that Muhammed Bura of the PDP, scored 55 363 votes and was therefore declared winner.


Tags pdp jigawa

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Read more from our Users

Nigeria @ 56: Words to my green f...

A leader’s job is not to dictate, but rather to be respected, admired and be a trustee, of the land we love, with so much potential, a land which should be freer than free. Its still a long way to fufilling our destiny! Read more...

Submitted by
Isaac Asabor263
Recession: An opportunity for Nig...

The recession should be seen as an opportunity for the country’s promotion as long as we all collectively conduct ourselves in a patriotic manner, writes Isaac Asabor.  Read more...

Submitted by
Black and White

We want to imitate the whites in everything because we are ignorant of our inherent originality and content. We spend all our Naira to acquire his inventions because we so oblivious of our natural endowments that we allow him have it for free. Read more...

Submitted by
Nate Nat
Adamawa State University Mubi: A ...

ADSU integrity forum has accused the Sunday Joshua Wugira, a lawyer, of adopting unorthodox tactics by abusing his privilege by attacking the integrity of ADSU Vice Chancellor Dr. Moses Zira Zaruwa, writes a News24 reader. Read more...

Submitted by
Abdulsalam Jubril
My Country Nigeria (Part One)

Poetry by Abdulsalam Jubril.

Submitted by
Abdulsalam Jubril
Recession, dearth in leadership a...

Every leader has the opportunity to become great and making himself immortal in the lives and hearts of people for generations to come. Will Mr. President seize this opportunity?, questions Abdulsalam Jubril. Read more...