Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.


Senate constitutes 65 standing committees, APC chairs 41, PDP 24

05 November 2015, 08:55

Abuja - The Senate on Wednesday announced the constitution of 65 Standing Committees, with the All Progressives Congress (APC) chairing 41 committees and the People's Democratic Party heading 24.

Senate President Bukola Saraki announced the constitution of the committees during plenary on Wednesday.

He said that members of other committees would be announced at a later date.

The media reports that the Senate had earlier constituted four standing committees, which were already in operation before announcing the additional 61 committees.

The committees and their chairmen include;Rules and Business with Babajide Omoworare (APC) as chairman and Ali Ndume(APC) as vice; Services Committee Chaired by Ibrahim Gobir (APC) with Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi (APC) as vice.

Ethics and Privileges committee is headed by Samuel Anyanwu (PDP), and Bala Ibn Na'allah (APC) as vice chairman, while Andy Uba (PDP) heads Committee on Public Accounts with Gbolahan Dada deputising.

National Security and Intelligence is to be headed by Shaaba Lafiagi (APC) and Jonah Jang (PDP) as vice chairman.

Also Read: Kogi, Bayelsa governorship candidates to sign peace accord

The chairmanship of the standing committees are Defence - Ahmad Lawan, Agriculture - Abdulahi Adamu; Airforce - Duro Samuel; Army – George Akume and Anti-corruption and Financial Crimes - Godfrey Utazi.

Others are Appropriation - Danjuma Goje; Aviation - Hope Uzodima; Banking, Insurance and other Institutions - Rafiu Ibrahim; Capital Market - Isiaka Adeleke while Gilbert Nnaji heads Communication committee.

The Committee on Upstream Petroleum is headed by Sen. Donald Alaosaodura; Water Resources - Mohammed Shittu; Women Affairs - Oluremi Tinubu; Works - Kabiru Gaya and Poverty Alleviation and Social Welfare - Ali Wakili.

Sen. Adamu Aliero heads Customs, Excise and Tariff; Drugs and Narcotics - Joshua Lidani; Downstream Petroleum - Uche Ekwenife; Education - Aliyu Wamako and Employment, Labour and Productivity will be chaired by Suleiman Nazif.

Sen. Dino Melaye is to head the Commmittee on Federal Capital Territory; Finance -- John Enoh; Foreign Affairs - Munsurat Sunmonu; Gas - Bassey Akpan and Health - Lanre Tejousho.

Committee on Housing will be chaired by Barnabas Gemade; ICT and Cybercrime - Buhari Abdulfatai; INEC - Abubakar Kyari and Information and National Orientation will be chaired by Enyinnaya Abaribe.

George Sekibo is to head the Committee on Interior; Industry - Sam Egwu; Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters - David Umaru while Sen. Olugbenga Ashafa heads the Committee on Land Transport.

Local & Foreign Debts committee will be headed by Sen. Shehu Sani; Mariine Transport - Ahmed Sani; Media and Public Affairs - Aliyu Abdullahi and Public Procurement - Abdulsalami Ohiare.

Sen. Kabir Marafa is to chair the Committee on National Identity and National Population; National Planning and Economic Affairs - Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso; Navy - Isa Hamma Misau and Niger Delta will be headed by Peter Nwaboshi.

Police Affairs Committee will be headed by Sen. Abu Ibrahim; Power - James Manager; Primary Health Care Communicable Diseases - Mao Ohuabunwa and Ben Bruce heads the Privatisation Committee.

Sen. Robert Boroffice retained his chairmanship of the Science and Technology Committee; Solid Minerals - Joshua Dariye; Special Duties - Murtala Nyako and Obinna Ogba heads Sports Committee.

States and Local Government Committtee is to be chaired by Abdullahi Gumel; Tertiary Institutions and TETFUND – Binta Garba and Trade and Investment is chaired by Fatimat Rasaki.

Saraki advised the committee chairmen to ensure that they held regular meetings and effectively carry out their oversight functions.

The media also reports that the committees witnessed increased by nine when compared to the 7th Senate which only had 56 committees

The Senate, thereafter, adjourned to Tuesday Nov. 10, as Saraki's trial at the Code of Conduct Tribunal continues on Thursday. 



Read more from our Users

Nigeria @ 56: Words to my green f...

A leader’s job is not to dictate, but rather to be respected, admired and be a trustee, of the land we love, with so much potential, a land which should be freer than free. Its still a long way to fufilling our destiny! Read more...

Submitted by
Isaac Asabor263
Recession: An opportunity for Nig...

The recession should be seen as an opportunity for the country’s promotion as long as we all collectively conduct ourselves in a patriotic manner, writes Isaac Asabor.  Read more...

Submitted by
Black and White

We want to imitate the whites in everything because we are ignorant of our inherent originality and content. We spend all our Naira to acquire his inventions because we so oblivious of our natural endowments that we allow him have it for free. Read more...

Submitted by
Nate Nat
Adamawa State University Mubi: A ...

ADSU integrity forum has accused the Sunday Joshua Wugira, a lawyer, of adopting unorthodox tactics by abusing his privilege by attacking the integrity of ADSU Vice Chancellor Dr. Moses Zira Zaruwa, writes a News24 reader. Read more...

Submitted by
Abdulsalam Jubril
My Country Nigeria (Part One)

Poetry by Abdulsalam Jubril.

Submitted by
Abdulsalam Jubril
Recession, dearth in leadership a...

Every leader has the opportunity to become great and making himself immortal in the lives and hearts of people for generations to come. Will Mr. President seize this opportunity?, questions Abdulsalam Jubril. Read more...