Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.


State Assembly confirms Modibo, others

27 September 2012, 09:27

Nasarawa - The Nasarawa State House of Assembly (NSHA) on Tuesday confirmed only five out of the seven nominees as members of the Nasarawa State  Independent Electoral Commission (NASIEC).

Mr Godiya Akwashiki, the Majority Leader of the House presented the list of the members for the house's confirmation.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), recalls that the house had earlier rejected the list submitted by Gov. Tanko Al-Makura for screening and making the him to submit a fresh list.

The majority leader said that the action was in line with the relevant sections of the 1999 Constitution and the law establishing the commission.

Following the exercise, Dr. Abdullahi Modibo, confirmed as the NASIEC Chairman, while Maryam Musa, Mohammed Ibrahim, Michael Ato and Jerry Santas became members of the commission.

Until his confirmation, the new NASIEC Chairman was a lecturer at the department of political science, Nasarawa State University, Keffi.

NAN also reports that the house rejected the nominations of  Aliyu Sani and Alex Ogah for several reasons.

 Akwashiki urged the house to reject Sani and Ogah in line with the provision of Section 200 (1A) of the 1999 Constitution as amended as well as the law establishing NASIEC.

According to him, any member of the commission to be confirmed should not be a card carrying member of a political party.

In their contribution, Messrs Madaki Goje and Mohammed Ibaku, expressed support for the disqualification of Sani and Ogah because of the existing electoral law had disqualified them.

Messrs Philip Aruwa, Danladi Jatau, Yahaya Usman, Mohammed Muluku, Francis Orugu, Abdullahi Obama among others supported the motion on the disqualification.

Meanwhile, the house has confirmed Messrs Salisu Abubakar and Ismaila Umar as administrators of Ekye and Loko development areas, respectively.

Simon Atukpa got confirmation as Transition Management Committee (TMC) members of Ekye, Auta Ukya as TMC Member of Toto, Ibrahim Bido as TMC member of  Giza, and Sam Akala as TMC members of Panda and Gambo Ibrahim as TMC member of Loko.

Musa Ahmed, the Speaker of the House of the State Assembly directed the Clerk of the house to forward the names of those confirmed and those that the house declined confirmation to the governor for necessary action on the matter.


Tags inec nasarawa

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Read more from our Users

Nigeria @ 56: Words to my green f...

A leader’s job is not to dictate, but rather to be respected, admired and be a trustee, of the land we love, with so much potential, a land which should be freer than free. Its still a long way to fufilling our destiny! Read more...

Submitted by
Isaac Asabor263
Recession: An opportunity for Nig...

The recession should be seen as an opportunity for the country’s promotion as long as we all collectively conduct ourselves in a patriotic manner, writes Isaac Asabor.  Read more...

Submitted by
Black and White

We want to imitate the whites in everything because we are ignorant of our inherent originality and content. We spend all our Naira to acquire his inventions because we so oblivious of our natural endowments that we allow him have it for free. Read more...

Submitted by
Nate Nat
Adamawa State University Mubi: A ...

ADSU integrity forum has accused the Sunday Joshua Wugira, a lawyer, of adopting unorthodox tactics by abusing his privilege by attacking the integrity of ADSU Vice Chancellor Dr. Moses Zira Zaruwa, writes a News24 reader. Read more...

Submitted by
Abdulsalam Jubril
My Country Nigeria (Part One)

Poetry by Abdulsalam Jubril.

Submitted by
Abdulsalam Jubril
Recession, dearth in leadership a...

Every leader has the opportunity to become great and making himself immortal in the lives and hearts of people for generations to come. Will Mr. President seize this opportunity?, questions Abdulsalam Jubril. Read more...