Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.


Ex-governors, INEC officials face prosecution over electoral fraud

12 August 2016, 13:34

Abuja - The National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) has indicted 118 persons as perpetrators of electoral fraud in the 2007 and 2011 general elections, reports New Telegraph.

Among them are former Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) chairman Prof. Maurice Iwu, former governors Emmanuel Uduaghan (Delta), Oserheimen Osunbor (Edo), Clarence Olafemi (Kogi), former Anambra State Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) Prof. C. E. Onukogu, Senator Hosea Ehinlanwo (Ondo), Senator Ayo Arise (Ekiti), Mukhtari Shehu Shagari and Chief Adefemi Kila.

At the presentation of a 284-page report on the 2007 and 2011 elections in Abuja on THursday, the commission urged the Attorney-General of the Federation (AGF), Inspector-General of Police, INEC and other relevant institutions to punish  those indicted.

The report released under NHRC’s “Electoral Accountability Project/End Electoral Impunity Project” recommended prosecution and disciplinary measures for them, reports Punch.

There were 118 indictments, categorised as criminal indictment (20 cases), criminal/administrative (49), administrative (38), administrative/ judicial (4), professional (3) and judicial (7).

Also read: 32 killed in pre-election violence in Rivers State

Others indicted are the late Major Gen. Abubakar Tanko Ayuba,  Aminu Sule Garo and Mr. Tarzoor Terhemen. Patrick Ashagu Ebinny named in relation to Nasarawa West state constituecy election. In 2007;  Abubakar L. Abdullahi; The returning officer, Isuikwuato/Umunneohi Federal Constituency in 2007 elections, Felix Osaigbovo (INEC Presideng Officer) in relation to the Ovia North East 1 Constituency Lection in Edo State in 2007, Umar Abdullahi (1st respondent in the case between Umar Ahmed Sule & another vs. Umar Abdullahi & others in petition no: GMS/EPT/HR/2/2011 in relation to the Dukku/Nafada Federal Constituency election of 2011.

A police officer, ASP Christopher Oloyede and two lawyers -G. A. Adetola Kazeem (SAN), the late James Ocholi (SAN), Adefemi Kila were also named in the report.

- News 24


Read more from our Users

Nigeria @ 56: Words to my green f...

A leader’s job is not to dictate, but rather to be respected, admired and be a trustee, of the land we love, with so much potential, a land which should be freer than free. Its still a long way to fufilling our destiny! Read more...

Submitted by
Isaac Asabor263
Recession: An opportunity for Nig...

The recession should be seen as an opportunity for the country’s promotion as long as we all collectively conduct ourselves in a patriotic manner, writes Isaac Asabor.  Read more...

Submitted by
Black and White

We want to imitate the whites in everything because we are ignorant of our inherent originality and content. We spend all our Naira to acquire his inventions because we so oblivious of our natural endowments that we allow him have it for free. Read more...

Submitted by
Nate Nat
Adamawa State University Mubi: A ...

ADSU integrity forum has accused the Sunday Joshua Wugira, a lawyer, of adopting unorthodox tactics by abusing his privilege by attacking the integrity of ADSU Vice Chancellor Dr. Moses Zira Zaruwa, writes a News24 reader. Read more...

Submitted by
Abdulsalam Jubril
My Country Nigeria (Part One)

Poetry by Abdulsalam Jubril.

Submitted by
Abdulsalam Jubril
Recession, dearth in leadership a...

Every leader has the opportunity to become great and making himself immortal in the lives and hearts of people for generations to come. Will Mr. President seize this opportunity?, questions Abdulsalam Jubril. Read more...