Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.


Rivers Assembly swears-in 12 PDP, APC members-elect on Friday

29 December 2016, 09:31

Port Harcourt -  The Rivers State House of Assembly will tomorrow, Friday, December 30, 2016, swear-in 12 new lawmakers elected on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Adams Dabutorudima, was quoted in a statement issued in Port Harcourt yesterday by Clerk of the House, Stanley Oba, that six of the affected lawmakers are of the PDP, while the other six are APC members.

According to the statement, while three of the lawmakers were confirmed by the Court of Appeal, nine others were returned in the just concluded December 10, 2016 legislative rerun elections in the state.

Also read: Rivers Assembly refuses to swear in female APC lawmaker

 Those confirmed by the Court included Hon. Doctor Farah Dagogo of the PDP, representing Degema Constituency; Hon. Adonye Diri of the PDP, representing Opobo/Nkoro Constituency and Hon. (Mrs) Victoria Nyeche of the APC representing Port Harcourt Constituency 1.

Those elected during the return election on the platform of the PDP include, Rt. Hon. Ikuinyi-Owaji Ibani representing Andoni Constituency; Hon. Granville Tekenari Wellington, representing Asari-Toru Constituency 1; Hon. Enemi Alabo-George, representing Asari-Toru Constituency II and Hon. Abinye Blessing Pepple, representing Bonny Constituency.

Those on the platform of the APC include; Hon. Mathew Dike, representing Tai Constituency; Hon. Josiah John Olu, representing Eleme Constituency; Hon. Innocent Barikor, representing Gokana Constituency; Hon. Friday Nkee, representing Khana Constituency II and Hon. Chikere Azubike Wanjoku, representing Ikwerre Constituency.

- News 24


Sheriff to quit as PDP chairman

23 February 2017, 10:28

Read more from our Users

Submitted by
Isaac Asabor263
Separating kitchen politics from ...

Like everyone else, I believe that the most popular definition of democracy is “government of the people, by the people and for the people”. Read more...

Submitted by
Bethel Tanifo
Ministry of Niger Delta Affairs, ...

Like NDDC Unlike MONDA. This notion is an intuition that does not portend political participation, affiliation, intrusion or aggression but a submission with the intention of completion of the previous administration's noble vision. Read more...

Submitted by
Bethel Tanifo
Nigerian Constitution versus Corr...

The problems of Nigeria is not in its conventional composition, formation, functionality, constitution or treaty, while the solutions are not disintegrations as promulgated by some faiths fanatics and bigotries.  Read more...

Submitted by
Abdulsalam Jubril
Much Ado about Trump’s Presidency

It was unbelievable when the social and mainstream media all over the world began airing the breaking news of Donald Trump’s victory in the most contentious US Presidential elections in recent years. Read more...

Submitted by
Mike Daemon
Nigerian author highlights gay ch...

A new novel by a prolific young Nigerian author features gay characters, which could help increase the visibility of the gay community and possibly lead to greater understanding of LGBT Nigerians. Read more...

Submitted by
Isaac Asabor263
Your Excellency, I will call you ...

Your Excellency, Governor Adams Oshiomhole, as a leader that pays attention to details, I understand that the odd title of this piece would definitely arouse your curiosity.  Read more...