Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.


Nigeria Federation Cup in history

03 November 2016, 19:00Israel Ojoko

Lagos - The Federation Cup has lasted over 70 years, and it is no doubt the oldest football competition in Nigeria.

Here’s a list of past winners since the competition began in 1942.


1942: ZAC Bombers         1-0       Services FC

1943: Lagos Marine         3-2      RAF FC

1944: Lagos Railways      2-0       Lagos Marine

1945: Lagos Railways      1-1       Lagos United

*Railway won 4-1 on penalty shootout


1945: Marine FC               1-0       Corinthians

1946: Lagos Railways      3-1      Port Harcourt FC

1947: Lagos Marine         3-1      Lagos Railways

1948: Lagos Railways      1-0       Warri XI

1949: Lagos Railways      3-0       Port Harcourt FC

1950: Lagos UAC 3-2       Port Harcourt FC

1951: Lagos Railways      3-2       Mighty Jets

1952: PAN Bank              6-0       Warri XI

1953: Kano XI                   2-1       Lagos Dynamos


1954: Calabar XI               3-0       Kano XI

1955: Port Harcourt FC    4-1       Warri XI

1956: Lagos Railways      3-1       Warri XI

1957: Lagos Railways      5-1       Zaria XI

1958: Port Harcourt FC    6-0       Federal United

1959: Ibadan Lions           1-0       Police FC

Also read: Fed Cup: Crown FC to appeal NFF Disciplinary Committee verdict


1960: Lagos ECN 5-2       Ibadan Lions

1961: Ibadan Lions           1-0       Lagos UAC

1962: Police FC                 1-0       Mighty Jets

1963: Port Harcourt FC    1-0       Mighty Jets

1964: Lagos Railways      3-1       Mighty Jets

1965: Lagos ECN 3-1       Mighty Jets

1966: Ibadan Lions           W/O Mighty Jets

1967: Stationery Stores   3-1       Mighty Jets

1968: Stationery Stores   3-1       Warri XI

1969: Ibadan Lions           5-1       Warri XI

1970: Lagos ECN              3-1       Mighty Jets

1971: WNDC Ibadan        2-1       Enugu Rangers

1972: Bendel Insurance   3-2       Mighty Jets

1973: No competition, as a result of 2nd of All-Africa Games

1974: Enugu Rangers       2-0      Mighty Jets

1975: Enugu Rangers       1-0       Shooting Stars

1976: Enugu Rangers       2-0       Alyufsalam Rocks

1977: Shooting Stars        2-0       Raccah Rovers

1978: Bendel Insurance   3-0       Enugu Rangers

1979: Shooting Stars        2-0       Sharks FC

1980: Bendel Insurance   1-0       Stationery Stores

1981: Enugu Rangers       2-0       Bendel Insurance

1982: Stationery Stores   4-1       Niger Tornadoes

: Enugu Rangers                   0-0       DIC Bees

*Rangers won 5-4 on penalty shootout

1984: Leventis United      1-0       Abiola Babes

1985: Abiola Babes          0-0       BCC Lions

*Abiola Babes won 6 – 5 on penalty shootout

1986: Leventis United      1-0       Abiola Babes

1987: Abiola Babes          1-1       Ranchers Bees

*Abiola Babes won 7-6 on penalty shootout

1988: Iwuanyanwu Nationale 3-0 Flash Flamingoes

1989: BCC Lions               1-0       Iwuanyanwu Nationale

1990:  Stationery Stores   0-0       Enugu Rangers

*Stores won 5-4 on penalty shootout

1991: El-Kanemi Warriors           3-2       Kano Pillars F.C.

1992: El-Kanemi Warriors 1-0     Stationery Stores

1993: BCC Lions               1-0       Plateau United

1994: BCC Lions               1-0       Julius Berger FC

1995: Shooting Stars        2-0       Katsina United

1996: Julius Berger           1-0       Katsina United

1997: BCC Lions               1-0       Katsina United

1998: Wikki Tourists        0-0       Plateau United

1999: Plateau United        1-0       Iwuanyanwu Nationale

2000: Tornadoes FC         1-0      Enugu Rangers

2001: Dolphins FC            2-0       El-Kanemi Warriors

2002: Julius Berger FC     3-0       Yobe Stars

2003: Lobi Stars                2-0       Sharks FC

2004: Dolphins FC            1-0       Enugu Rangers

2005: Enyimba FC             1-1       Lobi Stars

*Enyimba won 6-5 on penalty shootout

2006: Dolphins FC            2-2       Bendel Insurance

*Dolphins won 5-3 on penalty shootout

2007: Dolphins FC            1-1       Enugu Rangers

* Dolphins won 3-2 on penalty shootout

2008: Ocean Boys            2-2       Gombe United

* Ocean Boys won 7-6 on penalty shootout

Federation Cup

2009: Enyimba FC                 1-0       Sharks FC

2010: Kaduna United       3-3       Enyimba FC

* Kaduna United won 3-2 on penalty shootout

2011: Heartland FC               1-0       Enyimba FC

2012: Heartland FC               2-1       Lobi Stars

2013 Enyimba FC               2-2         Warri Wolves   

*Enyimba won 5-4 on penalty shootout

2014: Enyimba FC 2 Dolphins FC 1

2015: Akwa United 2 Lobi Stars 1

For the latest on national news, politics, sport, entertainment and more follow us on Twitter and like our Facebook page.

- News24 Nigeria


Injury blow for Alex iwobi

21 February 2017, 13:36

Read more from our Users

Submitted by
Isaac Asabor263
Separating kitchen politics from ...

Like everyone else, I believe that the most popular definition of democracy is “government of the people, by the people and for the people”. Read more...

Submitted by
Bethel Tanifo
Ministry of Niger Delta Affairs, ...

Like NDDC Unlike MONDA. This notion is an intuition that does not portend political participation, affiliation, intrusion or aggression but a submission with the intention of completion of the previous administration's noble vision. Read more...

Submitted by
Bethel Tanifo
Nigerian Constitution versus Corr...

The problems of Nigeria is not in its conventional composition, formation, functionality, constitution or treaty, while the solutions are not disintegrations as promulgated by some faiths fanatics and bigotries.  Read more...

Submitted by
Abdulsalam Jubril
Much Ado about Trump’s Presidency

It was unbelievable when the social and mainstream media all over the world began airing the breaking news of Donald Trump’s victory in the most contentious US Presidential elections in recent years. Read more...

Submitted by
Mike Daemon
Nigerian author highlights gay ch...

A new novel by a prolific young Nigerian author features gay characters, which could help increase the visibility of the gay community and possibly lead to greater understanding of LGBT Nigerians. Read more...

Submitted by
Isaac Asabor263
Your Excellency, I will call you ...

Your Excellency, Governor Adams Oshiomhole, as a leader that pays attention to details, I understand that the odd title of this piece would definitely arouse your curiosity.  Read more...